May 6, 2011

Moving forward

This Saturday on Zambia Blog Talk Radio, I will be hosting the first segment of the show. I will be interviewing Mrs Engwase Mwale, Executive Director of NGOCC (Non-Governmental Organisations Co-ordinating Council). NGOCC is actively involved in projects and initiatives that champion gender equality and equity in Zambia. They “recognize the importance of the women's role in the social, cultural, political and economic development of the nation and are determined to uphold the women's human rights and to ensure their empowerment.”
Most recently they’ve been very vocal in their opposition to the National Constitution Conference (NCC) and the failed constitution bill that came out of it. With the recent defeat of the Constitution Bill in Parliament, NGOCC has renewed its call for a new constitution that will respond to the needs of the remotest and marginalised communities.
I will be talking to Mrs Mwale about what needs to be done to move forward. What is the role of Zambians in this process? Is it realistic to believe that momentum can be built this year in the midst of the national elections and seeming disinterest from national leaders?
Tune in if you can, and remember to send me any comments or questions you’d like to have addressed. I will also post the audio file later this weekend.


The show will air live, May 7 at 6 a.m PST, 9 a.m. EST, 1400 hrs GMT, 1500 hrs CAT.
You can interact with me on Twitter (@missbwalya), and Facebook (Seize the Moment)

0 comments:

Post a Comment